The short answer
Donation Driver is Amazon Business's inbound donation tool. You publish a curated wish list, donors pay with their own card, Amazon fulfills to one pre-designated address per campaign, and the orders report through Amazon Business Analytics. There is no self-serve signup — you contact Amazon Business — and Amazon publishes no price for it.
Every organization that has ever run a supply drive knows how it actually goes. You post a list. Supporters buy things that are nearly what you asked for. Six boxes arrive with no note inside, two arrive at the wrong site, one person sends the item you already have forty of, and the volunteer tracking it all in a spreadsheet moves away in March. Then somebody asks who to thank, and there is no answer.
Donation Driver is Amazon's attempt at the missing plumbing. In Amazon's own words the point is to "make it easy for donors to purchase items and ship them to recipients" — you publish the list, the donor checks out on Amazon, and the resulting order behaves like any other order on your business account: trackable, reportable, attached to a name.
What it actually is
Amazon describes Donation Driver as a tool that "allows you to create a wish list, facilitate a donor transaction with their payment instrument of choice, send an automated thank you and tax receipt, and track the order information on your Amazon Business account."
Two details in that sentence do most of the work. The donor pays with their own payment instrument, which is what separates this from the giving tools your finance team has probably been asked about instead. And the order lands on your business account, which is what separates it from an ordinary public wish list where gifts simply appear on a loading dock with no reporting trail behind them.
Worth knowing before you evaluate it: Amazon states it powers Donation Driver through an application called Mindful Giving, built by OneEach, which Amazon describes as a third-party developer that has served 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations for nearly 30 years. This is not a native switch in Business Settings. It is a partner application wired into your account, and that shapes both the onboarding route and who you call when something breaks.
How a campaign works
- The organization creates a wish list
- Donors load a cart and add an optional cash donation
- Donors enter their own payment information and check out
- Donors receive an immediate thank you and receipt for their gift
- The organization tracks orders and reports on donation activity
Amazon states donors "can choose from a curated list of items requested by the organization, add their chosen items to the cart, and make payment, which is sent directly to your organization," and that donors can add an optional cash donation alongside the goods. So a campaign can capture both the item you need and the money you would rather have, in one checkout, without running two separate appeals.
On the reporting side, Amazon connects the program to Amazon Business Analytics and describes visibility into order details, donor information, campaign progress, delivery status and transaction data. That is the part a development office cares about: the thank-you list writes itself, and the campaign total is a report rather than a guess. If you already use the account's reporting for purchasing, this is the same surface — see spend visibility and reporting for what is free on the account and what sits behind a paid tier.
What you control in a campaign
- Add and remove specific products (ASINs)
- Set and track campaign goals
- Publish campaigns online for public donations
- Run multiple campaigns with different products
Item-level control is the reason to bother. A general appeal produces what donors imagine you need. A curated list of specific products produces what you actually need, in the size and quantity that fits your storeroom. Amazon states campaigns can be built from "any product you can search and discover on Amazon Business", so the list can be as narrow as one line of gloves or as broad as a full back-to-school catalog.
Goal tracking matters for a different reason. A published progress figure is a fundraising instrument in its own right — a campaign showing it is most of the way funded closes faster than one showing nothing — and it draws on the same order data as your reporting, so the number on the public page and the number in your report cannot drift apart.
The one-address rule that decides your setup
This is the constraint to design around, and Amazon publishes it plainly: "Each campaign/wishlist has a single, pre-designated shipping address." Amazon adds that Donation Driver "cannot ship items directly to different end users (such as individual homes) from a single campaign", and that the route around it is to create multiple campaigns with different delivery locations.
Read that against what you were planning to do with it. If you are a food bank filling one warehouse, the rule costs you nothing. If you are a shelter network with nine sites, one campaign is not a program — you are running nine campaigns, and somebody has to maintain nine lists. And if the plan was to have donors ship gifts straight to the families, students or clients you serve, Donation Driver as published will not do it, which is far better to learn now than three weeks into onboarding.
The multi-site case is administrative rather than fatal. Organizations already running per-location delivery on Amazon Business will recognize the shape of the problem from multiple shipping addresses, where the same one-address-per-thing discipline applies to ordinary purchasing.
Donation Driver vs Business Giving
Amazon publishes both, the names sound interchangeable, and organizations regularly ask for one while describing the other. Amazon's own distinction is that Donation Driver "allows your donors to purchase items as gifts and ship them directly to your address of choices, while Business Giving empowers your organization to directly purchase and distribute items to others through digital product vouchers."
| Feature | Donation Driver | Business Giving |
|---|---|---|
| Who pays | Your donors, with their own payment method | Your organization, from its own funds |
| Which way goods move | Inbound — supporters buy items for you | Outbound — you distribute items to others |
| The instrument | A published wish list of specific products | Pre-funded digital product vouchers |
| Who chooses the items | You curate the list, the donor picks from it | You curate the catalog, the recipient picks from it |
| Where it ships | One pre-designated address per campaign | To each recipient, at the address they enter |
| Money left over | Nothing to leave over — donors pay per order | Unused funds are returned after the campaign end date |
| Setup route | Contact Amazon Business — no published self-serve signup | Administered from inside the business account |
Scroll the table sideways to see both columns.
Plans and prices verified against Amazon on August 11, 2026. How we check.
In practice most organizations that want one eventually want both, and they are not in competition: goods come in through Donation Driver and go out through Business Giving and employee stipends. What you must not do is set one up believing it will do the other's job, because the funding direction is fixed at configuration time.
Who Amazon says it is for
- Nonprofits and charitable organizations
- Schools and educational institutions
- Healthcare providers and hospitals
- Food banks and shelters
- Disaster relief agencies
- Animal shelters and humane societies
- Government agencies
Those map cleanly onto audiences already covered here. Nonprofits get the most obvious fit, and that page also covers the tax-exemption document Amazon rejects most often. Schools and education have the clearest recurring use case in classroom supply lists, where the alternative is teachers buying materials out of pocket. Churches and faith organizations run seasonal drives that already work from a published list.
Amazon also names healthcare providers, disaster relief agencies and government agencies. For healthcare practices and government and public sector buyers, the honest caveat is that accepting donated goods usually runs into a procurement or gift-acceptance policy long before it runs into an Amazon limitation. Check that first — the tool is the easy part.
What Amazon does not publish
This site does not fill gaps with estimates, so here is what the solution page genuinely does not answer:
- Cost. No fee, no price, no revenue share and no transaction charge is published for Donation Driver. Nothing on the page says it is free, either.
- Whether Business Prime is required. Amazon does not state that Donation Driver needs a paid tier, and does not state that it works without one. Elsewhere Amazon labels paid-only capabilities as Prime Business exclusives. This one carries no such label, which is an absence of a label rather than a published statement that it is included.
- Formal eligibility. Amazon names organization types but publishes no test — no 501(c)(3) requirement, no registration check, no minimum size.
- Setup time. No published onboarding timeline.
- Payment processing detail. Amazon states payment processing occurs through third-party solutions and that Amazon Business fulfills orders to pre-configured addresses, but does not name the processor or publish settlement timing for the optional cash donation.
Every one of those is a question to put to Amazon Business in writing before you commit a campaign to it. If a figure matters to your board paper, get it from Amazon rather than from a guide — including this one.
The tax question, asked properly
Amazon states the program sends "an automated thank you and tax receipt" to the donor. That is a transaction record. It is not a determination that a given gift is deductible for a given donor, and neither Amazon nor this site is in a position to make one — that belongs to the donor's tax adviser and your own counsel.
The sharper operational question is sales tax on the order itself. Your Amazon Tax Exemption Program enrollment attaches to your account and your buyers. In a Donation Driver order the purchase is made and paid for by a donor. Do not assume your exemption carries across that boundary — Amazon publishes exactly this kind of carry-over limit for Business Giving, where exemption applies only if the recipient's own account holds valid exemption status. Ask Amazon how it is handled for donations, and if you are not enrolled yet, enrollment is free and separate.
Getting set up
There is no self-serve path. Amazon's published instruction is to contact Amazon Business to begin setup, and it lists these support routes:
- Amazon Business Account Executives
- OneEach Technologies, which Amazon states offers 24/7 support
- Solutions Consultants for API integration
- donationdriver@amazon.com for partnership inquiries
The prerequisite is an Amazon Business account, which is free to create and is where the reporting lands. If you do not have one yet, start with creating an Amazon Business account — registration needs your organization's name, address, tax identification number and a business email address Amazon verifies. The Donation Driver conversation is easier to have once the account exists, because Amazon can see the account it would attach to.
Note who supports what. Amazon points technical issues at OneEach Technologies rather than at Amazon Business Customer Service, so a broken campaign page and a broken order are two different support queues. Worth establishing before a December appeal, not during one. For ordinary account problems, the routes on contacting Amazon Business customer service still apply.
Is it worth setting up?
Yes, if donated goods are a repeating part of how your organization is funded, they land at one or two fixed addresses, and somebody is currently doing donor acknowledgment by hand. A curated list, a donor-funded checkout and order data in Amazon Business Analytics replace a real administrative job, for a campaign you already run every year.
No, if your donations are overwhelmingly cash. A payment processor you already use will out-perform this at collecting money, and the optional cash donation here is a companion to a goods campaign rather than a replacement for a giving platform. Also no if the whole idea was direct-to-beneficiary shipping — the single-address rule rules it out — or if you run one drive a year and can absorb the spreadsheet.
Ask more questions first if the answer depends on price. Amazon publishes no commercial terms for Donation Driver, and no honest evaluation can be finished without them. Get the terms, then decide. The free account underneath it is worth having either way — the tax-exemption enrollment and business-only pricing stand on their own, as whether an Amazon Business account is worth it sets out.
Bulk & Business is independent and not operated by Amazon. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend. Full disclosure.
Plans and prices verified against Amazon on August 11, 2026. How we check.




